Working life

1. What lead you to your role working at Sue Lambert Trust?

I have spent a lot of my working life within charities in Norfolk. I worked for over 8 years for Equal Lives firstly as an Admin Officer and Support Worker for a visually impaired Adviser, then progressing and developing my skills to working in marketing. I then joined The Benjamin Foundation supporting them to organise and run events for their anniversary year this role ended as the covid pandemic hit and for I then worked in a care home running activities, did some admin in an opticians and worked in a local pub wanting to try and fit working around my life as a mum. I was then approached by an agency R13 recruiting for this role at The Sue Lambert Trust and i was excited by the opportunity to be able to join the team here and working school hours to fit around my home life.

2.  How would you summarise your role at SLT?

My role is mainly around fundraising for Sue Lambert Trust I support organise and promote events and also get involved with broader marketing activities working to create new booklets and leaflets, supporting people to share their experiences, keep the website up to date, plan and schedule social media and work with other teams to support and promote who we are and what we do.

3. What do you like most about working for Sue Lambert Trust?

I like that although our charity may seem quite niche in regards to the support we offer, the reality is that so many people have or know someone that has experienced sexual abuse or violence at some point in their lives, and i find it truly amazing just how many people in Norfolk we support through our hardworking staff and volunteer counsellors and am proud to know the difference we make to so many peoples lives.

Home life

1. What do you like doing in your spare time, what are your hobbies or interests outside of work?

In my spare time i enjoy exercising taking part in yoga or a dance class or some sort. I hold a grey sash in Kung Fu and enjoy this although have taken a short break from training for Black Sash it’s something i will continue, i even had the pleasure of a training session with Richard Bustillo who was taught by Bruce Lee, he was a real character and very knowledgeable. I also enjoy family time on adventures out to the woods or the beach with my husband, son and cocker spaniel puppy who keeps me on my toes.

2. What’s your favourite food or meal?

I absolutely love a chorizo carbonara and lasagne, most pasta dishes are a big win for me. If i’m choosing something sweet it has to be a chocolate gateau or a lemon cheesecake.

3. What’s your favourite place to visit in Norfolk?

My favourite place to visit in Norfolk would have to be sea palling, i have fond memories of visiting the beach there as a child and i now often go there with my family and enjoy the sound of the waves crashing along the coastline. Although anywhere costal is amazing including Happisburgh and Hunstanton.

4. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would it be?

If I could go anywhere i would love to make it to China one day, to visit the Great Wall, Shaolin, terracotta warriors, and their pandas too! Though i have visited Italy and stayed in Sorrento, the Amalfi cost is amazing and would love to go back there one day it was beautiful.